National Awards for Local Government winners announced

Standout achievers in local government have been recognised with the announcement of category winners for the 2015 National Awards for Local Government 21st April 2015.

Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Infrastructure and Regional Development Warren Truss said the awards were an annual celebration of local governments’ achievements in delivering targeted, quality services to Australians in urban and regional communities.

“I congratulate all the nominees for this year’s awards,” Mr Truss said.

“The calibre of this year’s entries was outstanding, so much so that in addition to the winning entries, a number of projects have been highly commended.

“The entries are a credit to all those who contributed to delivering the various projects, which are all making a significant difference in their respective areas.”

The category winners were:

The Northern Territory’s Barkly Regional Council for the Barkly Desert Cultures in the Arts Animates—excellence in community engagement and participation category;

The Northern Territory’s Central Desert Regional Council for its Creating great landfills in central Australia remote Aboriginal communities’ project in the Boosting Productivity through Infrastructure category;

Victoria’s Northern Grampians Shire Council for From Italy to Stawell—the Stawell Underground Physics Laboratory in the Contributing to Regional Growth category;

Victoria’s Maroondah City Council for Changing Places – Changing Lives in the Disability Access and Inclusion category;

Victoria’s South Gippsland Shire Council for Gippsland Safe Freight Network in the Excellence in Road Safety category;

Western Australia’s Shire of Kulin for Camp Kulin in the Strength in Diversity category;

New South Wales’s Parkes Shire Council for its Bushman’s Hill Indigenous Project in the Promoting Indigenous Recognition category; and

Victoria’s Mildura Rural City Council for Flexible Learning Options (FLO) Connect in the Youth Employment category.

Mr Truss will announce the winner of the 2015 National Award for Excellence in Local Government in Canberra on 16 June 2015.

You may also like...